Pages Navigation Menu

Free Patterns from Fabric Companies

Free Patterns from Fabric Companies

By Janelle Cahoon, Quiltcentric

If you’re looking for free quilt patterns or inspiration, you should keep the quilt fabric companies in mind.  A lot of these companies pay top designers to produce patterns to show off their latest fabric collections.  And they’re free to use whether you’re buying the fabric or not!

It’s true that some of these patterns are just re-works of simple traditional designs, and being restricted to a single collection can tend to make things a little too well-matched for some of us, but the patterns are at least as good as you’ll find in most of the quilt magazines and the fabrics are easily switched out according to your own taste.

Here’s a list of many of the manufacturers who usually have free quilt patterns available on their websites.  I hope you have fun exploring!

Andover (http://www.andoverfabrics.com/?pageNum_News=1 )

Art Gallery Fabrics (http://www.liveartgalleryfabrics.com/freeQuiltingPatterns.html )

Avlyn Fabrics (http://www.avlyn.com/collections/project/ )

Blank Quilting (http://www.blankquilting.com/freepatterns/free_patterns.php )

Clothworks Textiles (http://www.clothworkstextiles.com/patterns.asp )

Fabri-Quilt (http://www.fabri-quilt.com/patterns/ )

Free Spirit (http://freespiritfabric.com/core-pages/patterns.php )

Hoffman Fabrics (http://www.hoffmanfabrics.com/content/content-folder.asp?FolderID=7 )

In The Beginning (http://www.inthebeginningfabrics.com/freepatterns.htm )

Henry Glass & Co.  (http://www.henryglassfabrics.com/projects/new-free-projects/ )

Robert Kaufman Fabrics (http://www.robertkaufman.com/quilting/quilts_patterns/ )

Kona Bay Fabrics (http://konabay.com/optimizer/category/Complimentary_Patterns.html )

Lakehouse Dry Goods (http://hollyholderman.typepad.com/projects/ )

Marcus Fabrics (http://www.marcusfabrics.com/makeit/ )

Maywood Studios (http://www.eeschenck.com/default.asp?SuperStore=348&s=348 )

Michael Miller (http://www.michaelmillerfabrics.com/MMF/DownLoad.cfm?Gid=1160 )

Moda Fabrics (http://www.unitednotions.com/un_main.nsf/fp )

Northcott (http://www.northcott.net/ )

P&B Textiles (http://www.pbtex.com/html/free_patterns.html )

Quilting Treasures (http://www.quiltingtreasures.com/quilting/projects.php )

Red Rooster Fabrics (http://www.redroosterfabrics.com/quilt/current.php )

RJR Fabrics (http://www.rjrfabrics.com/patterns/all_patterns.cfm )

Springs (http://www.springscreative.com/project-sheets/ )

Studio E Fabrics (http://www.studioefabrics.com/shop/category/projects/ )

Thimbleberries (http://www.thimbleberries.com/pages?id=252&nav=3 )

Timeless Treasures (http://www.ttfabrics.com/patterns/ )

Wilmington Prints (http://www.wilmingtonprints.com/projects.aspx )

Windham Fabrics (http://www.windhamfabrics.net/projects/ )

 

Do you have a favorite website or quilting technique you’d like to share?  Write an article about it and submit it through the Contact tab!

 

Subscribe to Quiltcentric by Email

Leave a Comment